Slow Realizations

I remember saying to your kids,  the day/night before the memorial…”You know, I know your mom never really was a Foo Fighter fan, but there’s this one song…I hear it and it drops me to my knees.” #1 replies that there is a song for him as well. We both said, “My Hero”.

This morning, I realized I am doing with the Foo Fighters, what I have done after every other life altering event. I listened to 1GiantLeap for two or three years, almost exclusively. Same with Eminem:Recovery, after The Boy.

Apparently, for you my Dear non loving Grunge Head…It’s not about you, it’s about me, so you get the Foo Fighters. I hear each song I have known for years in a new way that relates to you.

This is the crime against your life…I know.

I know, you gave your best to one person and you were used up till, well, the next one came along.

I know that sadly, someone will grow up not knowing that: Someone got the best of you.

I know.

I also know what song I will dedicate to you if I reach the end of my long living road of grief.

Love you.

About iwentcrazy

I am very, very, very average. And very, very, very lucky.

Posted on September 20, 2015, in Death and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

