Freddy Mercury…Thank You

Freddie+Mercury+img461Every time I hear Freddy, I miss my older sister. Sometimes I am not clear if the tears I weep at Freddy are for the non-relationship I have with my sister, or they are the process of mourning the loss of the gift of Freddy.

I think it is the loss of love.

Freddy, as I have learned from listening to him speak, is all about love. Freddy sang about love, because he loved love.

My older sister, was my first best friend. EVER. I loved her, and I still love her today, but we do not speak.

Perhaps the tears that keep falling as I watch all the bio programs on Freddy today, the anniversary of his death are for the loss of the expression of love.

My sister and Freddy are intricately connected in my world, when my sister choreographed a dance to the song Bohemian Rhapsody. She taught it to me. As a child, I spent HOURS with that album. My nose was buried in the lyrics sheet and I would stop whatever I was doing when mom played A Night at The Opera, and curl up on the floor near the heater vent, and read along.

queen_-_a_night_at_the_operaI can’t think of one without the other, and I can’t mourn the loss of one without mourning the loss of the other.

I can rejoice in what Freddy left behind. It will never die. Freddy Mercury will live forever, as long as there is a way to let his songs play.

I don’t have many things tied to my sister that don’t eventually bring a tear to my eye…because of the chasm between us. My hope is that one day, we can love one another again. Not that either one of us has ever stopped…but the space between us has gotten so big, I don’t know if it can ever come together again. Nothing will ever stop the hope.

Not even death has stopped the love of and for Freddy Mercury.

About iwentcrazy

I am very, very, very average. And very, very, very lucky.

Posted on November 24, 2013, in Love, Musica!, Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

