Shrill and Booming (part III)

Courtroom 1S KRJCI got subpoenaed at the beginning of the month, because I have twice picked up the phone to call 911 on the neighbors. It was the second call that did it, because booming was taken away and arrested. After speaking with the prosecutor, he told me he was pressing charges.

I sat in the KRJC really NOT wanting to be there. I was angry that I had to take MY time, from MY day, to deal with this bullshit, especially since I had heard he was claiming self-defense, and she was refusing to press charges.

REALLY???

I get it. I’ve been there. I had a husband and a daughter at the same time once. I took it and took it and took it, because I wanted my daughter to have a father who was present. Unlike what I had. I also took it because I didn’t believe in myself or my abilities. I also took it because no one ever picked up the phone and called the police on us or tried to do anything that would have or could have gotten is help.

Even the trips to the ER, where he sat by my side, the ever dutiful spouse, never leaving me unless he was asked to…no one ever asked me, “Is he hurting you? Did new york steaks REALLY fall out of the freezer and split your head open, or did he have something to do with it as well?

I didn’t WANT to be someone who fed the cycle through inaction. I may as well walk next door, pop Shrill in the face, call her a bitch and walk off if that’s the case, because inaction is condoning, and I do NOT condone violence on another human unless your life is on the line and you need to defend yourself.

Still…sitting there, staring at doors that have never led me any where good, I was getting pissed. THIS is what I get for trying to stop abuse? Well, no wonder no one ever gave a fuck or called 911! Who wants to go through this???

I sat there, shaking, remembering, remembering, remembering, wanting to panic and run. It took EVERYTHING I had to stay. I could have sat IN the courtroom, but I didn’t want to hear it so I let the prosecutor know I was there and would be in the hall. After four hours of watching people in the midst of trauma, the prosecutor came out and told me, “Mr. Booming plead guilty. He has some things to do for the court, but your services here are not needed. Thank you for talking with me on the phone and thank you for coming.”

He was very kind and had a good vibe about him, but I was happy as a pig in shit to leave.

Still…

If it happened again today, I would do the same thing.

I would call 911 again, because I simply, DO.NOT.CONDONE.

About iwentcrazy

I am very, very, very average. And very, very, very lucky.

Posted on September 30, 2013, in Domestic Violence, Me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

