The Importance of My Family (Walk the Talk)

1176315_10153124476385332_1817149661_n

I have been “on the outs” with everyone in my family, except my mom the last few years.

All of us have our individual and group issues and I think we all had our own work to do, but the separation has not been easy on me.

I have, for lack of a better word, felt banished. Yet, with my younger sister, I kept trying.

Within the last six months, things have started coming together and I feel lucky to have her back in my life. There is a sense of belonging and unity, but also deep love.

I am not able to put what I am feeling into words. Two words come to mind:

Humbled and loved.

Last night was the first time my younger sister and I have ever gone out for a night out together. She took me to The Showbox to see Adam Ant. I was nervous about going. Part of me wanted to bail, but she had done this as an early birthday present, and because music has always been a bond in my family.  I felt the need to walk my talk.

Adam, still rocks a pirate outfit, as well as his stage, and looks related to Mr. Depp. The show was incredibly awesome, in the sold out venue. I had done some reading on his life today before the show and was really looking forward to seeing him. I was a huge lover of Kings of The Wild Frontier, and it’s been years since I used to hang out at The Showbox. I chose carefully, the memories I allowed to flow into my head from the past. Some people don’t deserve rent in my head. That’s healthy for me, if I don’t want to nurture old emotions, but focus on healthy and new ones.

Afterward, we went to Pike’s Pub and had tea (she) and water (me) while waiting for our ride. We went up onto 1st Ave and I grabbed a smoke and who should go by on a Pedi-Cab but Guy Fieri from Food Network’s Triple D (Diners, Drive-ins and, Dives) I wasn’t sure it was him till I caught this view:

Extra-dark-tinting-for-staring-at-some-big-money-boobies

As his Pedi-Cab went down the sidewalk I yelled, “Bye Guy” and he waved. It was funny.

I do love my family, even those still not willing to participate in being family.

About iwentcrazy

I am very, very, very average. And very, very, very lucky.

Posted on September 8, 2013, in Food, Love, Me, Musica!, Relationships, Universe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

