Violence Invades

Last night I made an awesome dinner. After cleaning, each of us retired to our rooms. I had a DVD playing. I was watching Spanglish; I love cooking themed movies. As the movie ended I went outside. I thought I heard screaming over my sound.

Ickie stick in hand, I step out. Instantly I am hit with their voices, shrill and booming. Our motion sensor light spots me and does its thing. They don’t stop. I sit down and light up. I am now below the hedge and out of view.

She, (Shrill) and He (Booming) were really on a roll. I stood to go in when Shrill throws their window open and REALLY assaults the night with their madness. I can not understand her, as she is shrilling broken English. He on the other hand is Booming and I can clearly hear him scream, “You need to stop assaulting me!” And all 6′ whatever frame of his is towering over her petite silhouette. Booming slams the window back closed. Shrill opens it back up and Shrilled, “Fuck You!” in my direction.

Then is see and hear it with my eyes, ears and, heart. Skin on skin. She just slapped him. He screams back to not hit him. She hits him again, screams more, and then he hits her back.

Fuck that.

I called 911 and reported what I saw. I very clearly stated that from what I witnessed, SHRILL assaulted Booming first before his giant frame assaulted back.

It took another 15-20 minutes before it got quiet.

Here is the weird thing, and I noticed it right away. I watched and of course, wasn’t detached, because I was watching, but I also was detached, because I wasn’t triggered. I didn’t physically feel that fight or flight surge. I don’t know how to describe what I felt as I watched, other than foreign.

I did not start shaking uncontrollably. I didn’t flash back to anything from my past. I didn’t become afraid within me. But I am concerned that they might kill one another. I don’t want to have to be calling 911 every time they fight. But I will.

Nothing will bring out the hostilities in me faster than beating the tar out of one another though. I don’t really want to be hostile with my neighbors, but I do not want to be subject to their violence. I told Ginger this morning what happened last night because she was OUT after the meal I prepared. She said they had been yelling on Easter. She then asked me if we should call someone and report it today? I told her I already did last night. She was happy I had done this.

If I didn’t have a history, I am sure I would have anyway, but the history and some vague memory of being a victim, did compel me. I wonder if any of the other neighbors called? Certainly I was not the only one to hear it.

About iwentcrazy

I am very, very, very average. And very, very, very lucky.

Posted on April 4, 2013, in Domestic Violence and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

